Wesolych Swiat …My Polish Christmas

Christmas has come and gone but my memories of Christmas days gone linger on and are beautiful ones. We were a family of humble means but oh we were oh so rich~

The recipe of ME: My mom was American but of  Polish ancestors. My dad an American but of Chinese descent and the luck of the Irish. Although no one ever believes I am anything but Asian or Hawaiin. Growing up my Polish roots were very strong and so was our Catholic religion. My mother taught me Polish and till the day she died even wrote letters and cards to me in Polish. I rememeber and so love the the magic of the Polish holidays and the tastes of the delicious Polish food.Pierogi,kielbasi and cabbage rolls…comforting and old- fashioned, old European country  food …at it’s best!

I so loved the pastries fo prune and cheese with light golden brown crust. The poppyseed cake and the fresh baked Polish rye bread.

My visits to church were laden in music and gold. My Polish church was like a castle and magnificent to me. I CAN STILL HEAR the Polish Christmas carols we sang in my head right now. I can still sing the songs and in Polish too.

My BABCI (grandma in Polish) took care of us as my dad died when I was just a child…and my mom had to raise all of us herself and work full time too. She too taught me that religion and family were very important.

I miss my mom with the beautiful blue eyes, my babci, my dad and my beautfiul huge church.

I am thinking of all the Polish masses I sat through, sang throungh and prayed at.I miss lighting all those glorious candles with my twin and praying out loud. Oh and I above all miss my twin, although he was born with Down Syndrome he actually knew both English and the Polish language.

We were one exotic Polish family.

I invite you to feed your curiousity,mouth and soul. Go out and enjoy some other countries churches amazing food and customs. I am thrilledddddddd to be Polish from the waist down and Chinese from the waist up. I love being this combination platter right off the Chinese Take Out Menu~

Wesolych SwiatMerry Christmas! I hope your Christmas or Chanukah is and was bright, delicious and just right.

 I’d love to hear about your delicious Christmas and what made your day wonderful.

Let us never forget the reason for the season.

3 thoughts on “Wesolych Swiat …My Polish Christmas

  1. How wonderful that your mother went to great lengths to bathe you in the Polish culture. I wish my mother had. I have had to discover much of it on my own. I have been craving cabbage rolls (Golabki ) for a while now. I love how you described yourself as Polish from the waist down and Chinese from the waist up. I am the combination platter of Irish/Polish heritage growing up in Australia. Great post.

Leave a Reply

